About NSRRC / Introduction

The National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (NSRRC) is a non-profit research institute, funded by the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) in Taiwan. It is located in the Hsinchu Science Park, which is hailed as the “Silicon Valley of Taiwan,” home to many of the island’s largest IT and semiconductor companies. It is also advantageous to neighbor with two leading Taiwanese academic institutes, National Tsing Hua University and National Chiao Tung University.

A synchrotron facility is a ring-shape particle accelerator, also known as a synchrotron or a light source. Electron bunches travel at nearly the speed of light in a circular path to generate bright beams of light; the wavelength spectrum covers hard X-ray, soft X-ray, ultraviolet and infrared. With its ability to probe materials microscopically, synchrotron radiation has become an important tool for both fundamental and applied research covering a diverse range of subjects including physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, materials, chemical engineering, environment, energy, geology, archeology, micromechanics, electronics, nano devices, etc.

NSRRC, the biggest large-scale shared research facility in Taiwan, currently operates two accelerators, the Taiwan Light Source (TLS) and the Taiwan Photon Source (TPS). TLS, of beam energy 1.5 GeV and circumference 120 meters, is the first third-generation synchrotron light source facility in Asia and the third globally. It has opened to users since October, 1993. The best optimized energy range of synchrotron light from TLS is between vacuum ultraviolet light and soft X-rays. The TPS, of circumference 518.4 meters, is one of the brightest synchrotron light sources in the world. It began its operation in September, 2016. To meet the demands from modern technologies and pioneer sciences for higher-brightness light beams, such as biomedicine and nanoscience, it is equipped with a low-emittance synchrotron storage ring and booster synchrotron producing a beam of energy 3 GeV. It generates X-rays in the higher energy range from soft X-rays to hard X-rays, and has a capacity of more than 40 beamlines. In addition, NSRRC built and operates two hard X-ray Taiwanese beamlines at SPring-8, Japan, as well as a cold neutron triple-axis spectrometer at the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), under the international collaboration agreements.

Scientists from around the world can access NSRRC’s facilities to explore the properties of materials in a wide range of disciplines through a competitive proposal process. Every year, over 2,000 users use NSRRC’s experimental facilities, which not only enable basic research, but also facilitate high-tech innovation. NSRRC possesses one of the most advanced synchrotron facilities in the world and its pioneering capabilities keep Taiwan at the forefront of scientific research.

中心簡介 / 概況

財團法人「國家同步輻射研究中心」為科技部轄下之非營利研究機構,座落於號稱「台灣矽谷」的「新竹科學工業園區」內,不僅周圍林立大型科技公司與半導體廠,亦與國內著名的國立清華大學、國立交通大學比鄰而居。

「同步加速器光源設施」,又稱「同步輻射設施」或「同步光源」,乃外觀為環形之粒子加速器,電子束以接近光速的速度於環型加速器中繞轉而產生高亮度光束,其波長涵蓋硬X光、軟X光、紫外線與紅外線,用以探討各學科領域中不同物質的特性,已廣泛應用於物理、化學、生物、醫學、材料、化工、環保、能源、地質、考古、微機械、電子、奈米元件等基礎與應用科學研究。

「國家同步輻射研究中心」興建並負責營運兩座加速器光源與所屬的光束線實驗設施:台灣光源(Taiwan Light Source, TLS)與台灣光子源(Taiwan Photon Source, TPS),為我國規模最大的大型共用實驗設施。1993年10月開放用戶使用的「台灣光源」,是亞洲第一座、世界第三座完成的第三代同步輻射設施,電子束能量15億電子伏特,周長120公尺,真空紫外線及軟X光光源為其最優的能量波段範圍。2016年9月正式啟用的「台灣光子源」為目前世界上最亮的同步光源之一,具備超低束散度的儲存環,電子束能量30億電子伏特,周長518.4公尺,軟X光及硬X光為其最佳的能量波段範圍,可容納40條以上的光束線,能滿足綠能、生醫、與奈米科學等現代科技與先進科學對超高亮度光束的需求。此外,透過國際合作協約的簽訂,也負責位處日本SPring-8的兩條硬X光台灣光束線及澳洲Australia’s Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO)的冷中子三軸能譜儀之運轉。

「國家同步輻射研究中心」擁有世界首屈一指的同步光源之一,具備與時俱進的實驗設施與技術,世界各地的研究人員藉由實驗計劃的申請與審查機制,可運用本中心的實驗設施從事科學研究。每年有超過2,000名國內外用戶前來實驗,進行基礎科學研究與尖端科技創新,使台灣的科學研究與國際頂尖實驗設施並駕齊驅。